Cookie settings

Cookies are small text files stored on your device to identify you and can be used to remember user preferences and analyse traffic to further improve our website. We may share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. By clicking "Accept all cookies", you agree to the use of all cookies as described in our cookie statement or "Accept only essential cookies" to only use cookies that are necessary for the functioning of our site.

Read our cookie statement here.

You can choose to adjust your preferences at any time.

Wholesale Banking

Common Reporting Standard

The Common Reporting Standard (CRS) is a global standard for the automatic exchange of financial account information. It was developed by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and has been designed to prevent offshore tax evasion.

Applicable for individuals and legal entities, it provides participating countries transparency on the financial assets that their tax residents hold offshore.

CRS requires financial institutions to identify customer tax residencies and report to local tax authorities financial accounts held directly or indirectly by foreign tax residents. It also requires those tax authorities (in participating countries) to exchange this information.

More than 100 countries have committed to the standard, including all EU member states and major financial centres around the world. The US hasn’t committed to CRS because it is already obliged to automatically exchange information under pre-existing FATCA inter-governmental agreements.

More information about what the Common Reporting Standard is.